Sunderland Former Players Annual Golf Day 2013 at the Ramside Golf Club, Durham

After bad weather forced the cancellation of the 2012 SFPA Annual Golf Day it was a relief that the 2013 event enjoyed fine weather and the superb facilities  of the Ramside Hall Hotel and Golf Club. A total of 27 ex Sunderland players were involved, either playing or helping. 18 teams competed for the Team Trophy and this was won by the Heineken four ball which included 73 star Mickey Horswill. To round off a great day Mickey also topped the Former Players singles competition, thus winning the Jim McNab Memorial Trophy.  

The event featured the opportunity to win a car but, on the day, no one managed to hit the hole in one that was required.  

In addition to the hole in one challenge there were prizes for being nearest the pin on the four par three holes (tee shot), with their third shot on the par five ninth and a putting competition. Former Sunderland players Dick Malone and John McPhail were successful on two of the nearest the pin holes with the other winners being G. Maddison, M. Bennett and Nick Bowman. The putting competition was won by Ernie Woodhouse of the YESSS Electric team.  

Current Chairman of the Former Players Association, Nick Sharkey, was delighted with the support given to the event, not only from the teams taking part, but also the very generous sponsorship and help given to the Former Players Association from the Ramside Golf Club, Frank Moore of MEM Environmental Services, Steve Smith of Town Centre Citroen, Frank Curry of Brambledown Landscapes, Michael Oliver of Oliver's Dental Studios, Dave Stewart of Heineken and Graham Ridley of Makro's Washington store. Nick believes this level of support shows how well regarded the event is and points out that not only have many of the teams played in previous years but that this year saw five new teams taking part.  

Winston Young, former SFPA Secretary, who is still involved with organising the various golf events, has already reserved the Ramside course for next year's competition -  it will be on Friday 14th July. He endorses Nick Sharkey's comments and wants to thank everyone who took part.'

SFPA members on steps outside Hotel Golf Club Norman Howe, Brian Tinmouth, Clive Bircham & Malcolm Moore David Duke, Alan Greener & Alan Weir Exclusive Travel - Barry Emmerson YESSS Electric - Neil Davidson Chris Lee - CCS Mobile Steve Moran - Team Moran Dave Lawson - Northern Freight Services George Tomlinson - Haydon & Lamb Team Ganley - Michael Ganley Brambledown - Frank Curry MEM Environmental Services Monkeyhangers Building Technical Services - Malcolm Dobinson Team Telfer - David Telfer PCI Services - Joe Olabode Olivers Dental Studios - Michael Oliver HLA Services - Neil Henry Alldec - Dave Allen Team Heineken QC Leisure PC Lowes Insurance Consultants Stan Anderson Dick Malone Cec Irwin Stan Anderson Nicky Sharkey Alan Cruddace & Ritchie Pitt John McPhail, Winston Young & Nick Sharkey Heineken Team Trophy winners BTS team trophy runners up Micky Horswill - Jim McNab Trophy winner Winners of nearest the pin on par3 Nick Bowman - winner of nearest the pin on par5